Oracle DBA – A lifelong learning experience

UKOUG 2010 here I come

Posted by John Hallas on November 3, 2010

I have been invited to speak at UKOUG this year and it is something I am really looking forward to.

My talk is entitled Standards, the why, how, when and where and I have presented it once before to great critical acclaim, (well nobody booed  and there was some good feedback afterwards).  I really talk about some of the simple things you can do to make life easier, standard server builds, pre-built oracle users, a standard profile and then move onto other more database orientated issues. I try to treat the subject, which can be very dry, in a light and practical manner.

I will be attending for all 3 days this year so I hope to network with as many people as possible. I had the opportunity of reviewing some of the abstracts that were submitted this year and I think the organisers must have had a difficult job in choosing from so many talks that really sound interesting and worth attending.

So whilst perusing  the conference agenda  don’t forget to put your name down for my presentation  – Weds 1st December 12:15

2 Responses to “UKOUG 2010 here I come”

  1. Good luck with the presentation. I am sure people will enjoy as much as I enjoyed.

    As a feedback One thing you can improve with the presentation is to do a demo of standarts on oracle user profiles maybe compare it with an environment which does not have it could be very teaching for people.

    • John Hallas said

      This presentation is different from the one you saw in London Coskan. More general Unix and database. I do talk about unix profiles and I will be expanding that to include database security profiles which I am doing a lot with at the moment.



Leave a Reply

