Oracle DBA – A lifelong learning experience

Using the connection_rate parameter to stop DoS attacks

Posted by John Hallas on September 2, 2010

I recently posted on the oracle-l mailing list about how to stop  denial of serice attack. My message is below

We had an application that repeatedly connects to the database via java connection pool fail because the account had become locked. The application kept on trying, the database did not allow the connection and we ended up with thousands of ‘dead’ processes causing the unix server to hang as all memory was used up.

The obvious thing to fix in our case was some form of application logic to recognise that failed connections had been made and stop the repeated connection attempts.

However this could also be used in a denial of service attack. What steps could we take to reduce that risk. The problem as I see it is that the database has reacted correctly and there is not much more we could do at the database level. However I am always open to suggestions.

I received two responses,  both of which were valuable. Freek DHooge suggested enabling dead connection detection by using the sqlnet.expire time setting and another mail from Grzegorz Goryszewski directing me to the 11g new feature listener connection rate feature. I set up a test to use both features and here are the results.

Firstly I generated 3 scripts to generate a number of connections into the database to open  sqlplus connections, to generate lots of calls of that script and to kill all the connections


# Simple shell script to simpulate a DOA

while true
sqlplus -s << EOF
<a href="mailto:soe/soe@DB11G">soe/soe@DB11G</a>
<a href="mailto:soe/soe@DB11G">soe/soe@DB11G</a>
<a href="mailto:soe/soe@DB11G">soe/soe@DB11G</a>
# DOA Controller


while [ $count -gt 0 ]
count=`expr $count - 1`
/home/oracle/ > /dev/null &

ps -fu oracle | grep DOA | grep -v grep | awk '{print$2}' > /home/oracle/DOAProcesses

# DOA Stop
echo Stopping DOA Processes
for i in `cat /home/oracle/DOAProcesses`
kill -9 $i

DOAProcCnt=`ps -ef | grep DOA | grep -v grep | wc -l`

echo Number processes Running are $DOAProcCnt

Firstly I should mention that I tried running with Swingbench and that just sends a blast of 50 logins in at once which is not what I was trying  to emulate.  I also locked the soe account I was using which is what the status would be in a real; world attack after 3 failed login atempts.

Enabling sqlnet.expire_time=1 in the sqlnet.ora file did not work and we still had a lot of dead connection which killed the CPU. Note my original problem was with an application grabbing memory but I need to spend more time testing that specific issue whereas this blog is more about the usage of the connection rate parameter in listener.ora which was new to me.

sqlnet.expire_time set

I then unset that paremeter and added the the rate_limit and connection_rate parameters to my listener .This allows 2 connections per second. Note the listener needs restarting, a reload will not be sufficient

LISTENER_server =

(ORACLE_HOME = /app/oracle/product/
(PROGRAM = extproc)


connection_rate parameter enabled

Bingo – the server usage from glance was vastly improved. No died sqlplus processes and CPU not impacted. However whilst tailing the listener log file I could see no evidence that connections were being rejected.

This is a piece of work in progress and I thought I would post my initial findings and follow up later on with more findings.

7 Responses to “Using the connection_rate parameter to stop DoS attacks”

  1. it would be a good precaution, before having a real attack. THanks.

  2. […] As a side note, one of our DBAs has been investigating how to prevent a client connection accidentally (through bad coding) or maliciously (DoS) bringing down Oracle in this way, his findings are documented here. […]

  3. Grzegorz Goryszewski said

    I’m glad I was helpful.
    There is good practice to limit connection rate on server side as well .
    Linux has iptables module for that .
    I’m not sure about others🙂.

  4. John Hallas said

    If you want to see a bit more information about what actually caused the original problem then have a look at

  5. I come from the website from Robin and I learn. Good article thanks.

    Just a little question: have you tried the SQLNET.INBOUND_CONNECT_TIMEOUT parameter?
    I think It’s exactly to prevent this kind of problem.

    An extract of the documentation:


    Use the SQLNET.INBOUND_CONNECT_TIMEOUT parameter to specify the time, in seconds, for a client to connect with the database server and provide the necessary authentication information.

    If the client fails to establish a connection and complete authentication in the time specified, then the database server terminates the connection. In addition, the database server logs the IP address of the client and an ORA-12170: TNS:Connect timeout occurred error message to the sqlnet.log file. The client receives either an ORA-12547: TNS:lost contact or an ORA-12637: Packet receive failed error message.

    Without this parameter, a client connection to the database server can stay open indefinitely without authentication. Connections without authentication can introduce possible denial-of-service attacks, whereby malicious clients attempt to flood database servers with connect requests that consume resources.


  6. Rich said

    hello there,
    have you tested the parameter suggested by Nico.

    I have a question on connection_rate parameter, it failed miserably to out env.
    why it failed ? to get answer of this question I need to know how this parameter behaves.

    suppose I set the limit to 5 connection / second and I opened the 1000 connection in one second,
    what will happen to rest 995 connection ? will that go in some queue or dead immediately ?

    Rich ..

Leave a Reply

