Oracle DBA – A lifelong learning experience

Impressions from UKOUG 2009

Posted by John Hallas on December 3, 2009

As I spent the 2 days of this week at UKOUG and I quite enjoyed myself. I thought I would do brief comments on some of the impressions I came away with.

How much effort many of the presenters put into preparing their work and how stressful it must be, especially to the first timers.

Did I go to a presentation by anybody who was not an Oak Table member, probably not and that was not because I chose sessions by OT members.

The organisers had definitely listened to feedback last year re the lack of seating in the exhibition area and just outside.

I am not sure if many of the exhibitors would have found it worthwhile as the exhibition seemed rather sparsely attended.

At last 50% of the exhibitors were selling E-Business Suite applications and about another 10% were selling license management solutions.

The two presentations I enjoyed the most were ‘SQL Plan Management’ by Harald van Breederode and surprisingly enough one entitled ‘The murky world of Database character sets’ by Paul Hancock. Perhaps the best presentor I saw was Lloyd Carpenter on Active Dataguard. He spoke for about an hour and I think he could have done 3 hours if he had been asked to. His enthusiasm just leapt out and grabbed the audience and the slides were very well prepared.

A couple of negative aspects. The first was perhaps the timing of the event relative to the release of 11GR2, however I did get a bit fed up of hearing about how good 11GR2 is and yet it is only available on couple of platforms at the moment and there are no signs for when it will be available on HPUX. I know that is personal to my situation and not a fault of the event but I did find it a bit irritating.

Finally, I left one presentation half way through because I had to control myself from jumping up and asking the presenter how many people would be likely to do what he was talking about. This was a presentation on RAC but it focused almost entirely about the availability of a couple of undocumented parameters that could be used to change the priority of processes. The presenter did say that be careful when to use this and only do it under the direction of Oracle support but each myth he mentioned seemed to end up with discussion of process priorities. I was told later that a number of other people had left early as well.

Overall a well organised and well attended event and I think the 3 day format worked well.

3 Responses to “Impressions from UKOUG 2009”

  1. Doug Burns said

    Nice write-up.

    I did get a bit fed up of hearing about how good 11GR2 is and yet it is only available on couple of platforms at the moment and there are no signs for when it will be available on HPUX.

    Isn’t there some value in hearing what’s coming along soon as well as what’s available at the moment? That’s partly why I attend conferences in the first place and why I mention new features. I doubt very much that many people would be using 11gR2 in anger for a while anyway.

  2. John Hallas said

    Thanks Doug. Your comments are very true and perhaps my frustration is tinged with envy.

    Funnily enough I almost mentioned your presentation in my write-up despite the fact I did not attend. I was on my way there but met an ex-colleague and spent half an hour chewing the fat and therefore missed your effort. My loss by the sound of it because my workmate attended and said it was the best one for him over the three days. He liked the opening bit about not using Powerpoint at all and took a lot away from your slot.

    John

    • Doug Burns said

      I was on my way there but met an ex-colleague and spent half an hour chewing the fat

      Ha! Tell me about it 😉 Glad your colleague enjoyed the presentation, though. Good to hear

Leave a Reply

 
