Oracle DBA – A lifelong learning experience

2013 blog activity

Posted by John Hallas on December 31, 2013

At the end of the year WordPress produce a brief analysis of activity on my blog

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 160,000 times in 2013. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 7 days for that many people to see it.

In 2013, there were 25 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 176 posts. There were 32 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 5 MB. That’s about 3 pictures per month.

The busiest day of the year was March 19th with 782 views. The most popular post that day was Purging statistics from the SYSAUX tablespace.

Interestingly numbers  – about 440 hits a day on average although weekend is only ever 125-150 per day and most weekdays are ~550. The pattern always looks the same  – Monday the busiest and each day’s hits reduces towards Friday.

I am pleased I wrote 25 posts, one a fortnight is about right volume for me I think. In my humble opinion my best post was a 2000 word essay I wrote on being a good DBA manager – that was written on the fly with no preparation. On reflection I think 10 commandments was too many as the first couple were a bit weak but were there to make up the 10 in the title. 10 is always top 10, or 10 commandments, 6 is always 6 of the best, I am not sure what you can say about 8.

Finally I will share my photo again of me holding  the football used in the 1966 World Cup Final. I was quite pleased with that.

1966worldcupball

Looking forward to producing more articles and receiving comments in 2014

John

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

